Don’t blow it – good planets are hard to find.

I’m not an environmentalist, but I know this much: The sun, the moon and the stars would have disappeared long ago.. had they happened to be within the reach of predatory human hands.

I saw this picture about the National Geographic Earth Day Run 2012 in Manila, Philippines. You might have seen it too since it’s gone viral, but here’s a copy just in case you haven’t.

See how disgusting this is?!

I’m not disgusted by the amount of trash. I’m disgusted by the people who made this happen, disgusted by the thought that this is FREAKING EARTH RUN, for crying out loud.

Some people argues that, “Hey, someone’s cleaning it afterwards.” Guess what? Cleaning up isn’t the point. It’s the waste that is the issue. I don’t think it matters that it was cleaned up after, but wasted in the first place. Cleaning up trash uses more resources than not wasting. Just because someone’s cleaning up afterwards doesn’t make this shit ok.

Actually, I’d be less mad if this happened during a normal day. I didn’t say that I wouldn’t be mad. I said that I’d be less mad. But the fact that this happened during a “Save the Earth” campaign made me really disgusted by people. Given, people don’t really care about saving the Earth (filthy hypocrites) and they just ran because they felt like it. That’s the irony of all of it. You’re “saving” the world! Not ruining it even more!

Remember, it’s not us who suffers. It’s our grandchildren, or our grandchildren’s grandchildren. We didn’t inherit the Earth from our ancestors, we’re borrowing it from the next generation. I hope people thinks more about Mother Nature next time. It’s our home. We haven’t got anywhere else to live.

Some of my friends laugh and mock me everytime I lecture them to throw their trash properly, but this is no laughing matter. It’s seriously alarming. What I wouldn’t give to exchange those goddamned malls and buildings for fresh trees, forests, and oceans. Sigh. That’s modern technology for you, I guess.

Happy belated Earth day, earthlings.

❤ Cae

Leave a Reply

